Home made mayo

If there’s one thing I took from my experience doing a Whole30 (other than the obvious – added sugar sucks!) it was this mayonnaise recipe. I. love. mayo. I remember seeing some Instagram post pushing avocado instead of mayo and I was all pffffft, I love avocado, but I’m not giving up mayo. But I knew that jar of Hellmann’s was complete garbage for me, so I just ate less of it and savoured it when I indulged.

A lot of people go into their first Whole30 thinking about the things they don’t get to have. I encourage you go into it with excitement about the new things you’ll learn to make. You certainly don’t have to be doing a Whole30 to enjoy this simple mayo. You might even have all the ingredients in your cupboard right now.

Here’s a little video to show you how it’s done – full instructions are below.

Home made mayo

Ingredients

1 1/4 cup avocado oil (Whole30 says they don’t like avocado oil because the flavour is too strong, but I call their bluff. I think it tastes great.. and is actually very mild.)

1 room temperature egg

1/2 tsp mustard powder (or prepared yellow mustard if that’s what you have)

dash of salt

lemon juice

Method

Combine 1/4 c. oil, egg, mustard powder and salt in the blender. SLOWLY pour the remaining cup of oil into the blender while it’s running on low. It’s important not to rush this step or your mayo will not emulsify properly and you’ll end up with a runny mess (this happened to me my first try). Once all your oil is in and your mixture has magically thickened, add the lemon juice to taste and stop the blender once combined.

Use a spatula to transfer your mayo to a jar. According to the good folks at Whole30, this should keep in your fridge for one week past the expiration date on your egg carton. But don’t even worry, you don’t have to think about that – it’ll be gone well before then.

Get fancy

Now that you have mayo – you don’t have to stop there. Use this as a base for any dressing or dip you want. Think garlic, chipotle, fresh herbs, more lemon juice… it’s just the beginning my friends.

i really want to try a chipotle mayo. Have you made home made mayo before? What did you mix with it to make it special?

2 thoughts on “Home made mayo

  1. I have not made homemade mayonnaise. This video makes it look so easy, I am going to buy the ingredients and give it a try. The only thing different is I will mix it in my magic bullet as it is easier to clean. Nice, clear video!
    Janice

    Like

    1. Hi Janice! Thanks for your comment. I’m glad you liked the video – it really is that easy! I’ve heard about people having issues with their magic bullet because you don’t have the opportunity to slowly drizzle in the oil, but I have done it successfully once where I just put the oil in in several batches to make sure it emulsifies properly. Good luck! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

